Merryn Christian

Team Australia 2018 Reserves

Quidditch Australia is proud to announce the eight individuals who have been selected as reserves for Team Australia. These individuals will join the 21 Dropbears at all training camps and team events in the lead up to the 2018 IQA Quidditch World Cup in Florence this June.

Coming from all across Australia, these athletes will train with and support the team, and are a crucial part of Team Australia and Australia’s World Cup campaign. The reserve squad includes individuals from New South Wales (4), South Australia (1), Victoria (2), and Western Australia (1). Two of the reserves have previously represented Australia at an international level and one was a reserve for the previous World Cup; the remaining five would be making their international debut should they be called upon to replace any Dropbear that is injured, ill, or otherwise unable to compete.

The Reserves

Rajtilak Kapoor

Samantha Chittenden
James Hyder
Stella Naylor
Edward Vienet

Anthony Hogan
Harrison Jones
Isobel Rennie

Benjamin Kasehagen from Queensland was offered a place as a chaser reserve but was unable to accept.

Team Australia 2018

Quidditch Australia is extremely proud and excited to announce the 21 individuals who have been selected to represent Australia at the 2018 IQA Quidditch World Cup. These athletes represent the best and brightest Australia has to offer and we wish them all the best in Florence.

Team Australia, known as the Dropbears, will be tasked with defending Australia’s title after they successfully defeated the USA in the Grand Final of the previous IQA World Cup in 2016, winning 150* – 130. The Dropbears consists of 21 athletes from 3 states, comprising 12 Victorians, 8 New South Welshmen, and 1 Queenslander. The team adheres to the IQA’s rules in terms of roster gender maximums.In total, 104 individuals applied to be on Team Australia, the successful individuals representing the culmination of months of selection. We are grateful to and thank our six selectors and coaching team for their roles in this decision.

Thirteen of the players were on the previous gold-medal winning team and will be looking to add another trophy to their cabinet, while the other 8 players will be making their international debut in Florence. Up to 8 reserves will also be a part of the Team Australia Squad, to be announced later. The Team Australia Squad will meet regularly between now and the tournament to train and work together to bring Australia’s dream of back to back gold to life.

The Team

Callum Mayling
Miles Newton

Natalie Astalosh
Luke Derrick
Nathan Morton
Dean Rodhouse
Clementine Round
Deni Tasman

Arlyta Andrew
Andrew Culf
Brandon Frison
Neil Kemister
Cassia Menkhorst
Emily Merry
Jonathon O’Brien
Dameon Osborn
James Osmond
Taya Rawson
Simon Spann
Nikita Van Kaathoven
James Williams

 Photo Credit: Ajantha Abey Quidditch Photography, Courtney Buckley Photography, and Jackson Weaver Photography

Board of Directors for 2018

Quidditch Australia is pleased to announce the election of the following individuals to the board of directors, having been successfully elected at the 2017 Annual General Meeting:

Luke Derrick
Rhiannon Gordon
Lee Shu Ying

Following a meeting of the new board, the following portfolios have been assigned to the current directors:

Merryn Christian – Chairperson
Alise Fox – Treasurer
Rhiannon Gordon – Secretary
Luke Derrick – Gameplay
Lee Shu Ying – Membership

We wish the new directors luck in their roles and are certain they will do great things for Quidditch in the coming years.

Due to the resignation of Matthew Ingram and the failure to elect sufficient directors to the board at the AGM, there are currently two standing casual vacancies on the board. More information about these will be released shortly.